Caramel color is burnt or carmalized sugars and starches usualy in a water suspension.

Where does CARAMEL COLOR come from?

There are many different types of caramel color, each engineered to serve a particular purpose in food chemistry. They are all based on the cooking of sugars and starches. Sometimes acids such as Acetic Acid, Citric Acid, Lactic Acid, or Phosphoric Acid, are used to break the bonds between sugars to create invert sugars, or to make sugars from starches, before the sugars are raised to a higher temperature for carmelization.

How is CARAMEL COLOR made?

Sugars and starches are heated until they begin to carmelize or burn. The heat is carefully controlled during carmelization to get the right products from the reaction. Besides acids, alkalies and salts may be used to further control the process.

Is CARAMEL COLOR healty for me?

Carmel color is about as healthy as sugar. But depending on the processes it is produced in might have trace amounts of acids used in its production.

More information about CARAMEL COLOR.

Caramel color is a colloid, a mixture in which solid particles are suspended in Water. The particles in colloids have electric charges that keep the particles from clumping together and settling out of solution. The charges can be positive or negative. If a negative coloid is added to a product that has positive colloidal particles in it, the two will attract one another and clump up, making the product cloudy.


Caramel color can be made with either positively or negatively charged particles. This allows manufacturers to use negative colloidal caramel in acidic soft drinks, and positive in beers and soy sauces. Beer has positively charged proteins suspended in it, and soy sauce has a high salt content that requires the more salt-tolerant positive caramel color.

Caramel color is an emulsifying agent as well as a colorant. In soft drinks, it helps keep the flavor oils suspended in the solution.

In Chocolate Milk, the muddy color of caramel is darkened by the addition of FD&C Red #40 to give what the industry refers to as a "Dutch" chocolate shade. Blues and yellows are sometimes used to give a more brown color.

Caramel color is added to baked goods, to poultry, to Milk to give an "Eggnog" color, to Malt Vinegars, canned meats, syrups, and soups, stews, and gravies.



  1. Ann
    Is caramel colour vegan or not? I keep getting different answers online, and am extremely confused. There are products labelled vegan containing caramel colour as in ingredient, so I did assume at first that it was vegan. Now, not so sure. Thank you

  2. Kurtis Kiesel
    Caramel Coloring does not come from animals, it comes from cooked sugar, which is usually from the vegetables sugar cane or sugar beet.

  3. E
    From what I have been reading about dairy alergies is that caramel colouring is not always vegan and may be derived from milk. The source of the caramel colouring does not have to be printed on the label. FDA standard of identity from 21CFR CH.1. This statute says: \"the color additive caramel is the dark-brown liquid or solid material resulting from the carefully controlled heat treatment of the following food-grade carbohydrates: Dextrose (corn sugar), Invert sugar, Lactose (milk sugar), Malt syrup (usually from barley malt), Molasses (from cane), Starch Hydrolysates and fractions thereof (can include wheat), Sucrose (cane or beet).\" Also, acids, alkalis and salts are listed as additives which may be employed to assist the caramelization process.

  4. Biman saha
    Can caramel color containing pharmaceutical preparations be claimed to be sugar free in India?

  5. saceays

  6. carol
    It may not be vegan, and is also likely to be made from GMO corn or sugar beets. Best to avoid it, for several reasons.

  7. carol
    It may not be vegan, and is also likely to be made from GMO corn or sugar beets. Best to avoid it, for several reasons.

  8. bonno
    Their is no reason to avoid caramel. If your a vegan then your already doing major health damage to your body.

  9. jason
    Thats so true bonno. Vegans are very unhealthy, their breath always smells bad, their skin is rough and they always look tired.

  10. chris
    A vegan that eats or drinks anything that contains food colour , isnt a true vegan.

  11. Vegan!
    You guys are a bunch of morons who obviously don\'t do your research. Vegans are the most healthy people out there. They\'re less depressed and have less health problems. You all type like you\'re 10 year old elementary school drop outs. Get out of the ghetto and know your facts before you make a statement

  12. Kristina
    I\'ve read that caramel color can be made from the sugar in milk, so there is a chance it is not vegan. It\'s best to just avoid caramel color since you don\'t really know where it\'s coming from. Also, I\'ve read that it\'s a carcinogen, so you really shouldn\'t eat it. I agree with Chris above my comment; vegans shouldn\'t eat any food coloring, because some of them are made from and/ or tested on animals (eg. Red 40).

  13. heidi
    Uumm...hi...not aure if it matters but I\'m vegan and my skin is not rough...it is soft. I AM ALWAYS energetic, thanks to becoming vegan...and my breath smells great... Did you live in a hole? Anyway, it depends on how they make the suger. Sone refined processing machines use ground up animal bone to create the sugar in the process. But the sugar doesnt have the bone, it was just a use and throw out to get your final product thing. So it is vegeterian because it has no animal product, but not vegan, because they exploited and took the life of an animal to make their product. We are animals product and cruelty free people. No soda. No dominos sugar. No meat, cheese, or honey. No leather shoes. 100% Cotton shirts, because furs are killing animals. And not polyester because some of chinas factories use kill stray animals and use their fur for cheap alternatives.